PDFs

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

On this page:

By default, certain instrumentation-related configuration settings in AppDynamics—such as remote service detection and service endpoint settingsfollow a hierarchical inheritance model. New tiers and nodes inherit configuration settings from their parent application or tier, respectively. If you created an application in a version of AppDynamics prior to 4.3, transaction detection rules also follow the hierarchical inheritance model.

You can customize the configuration at any of these levels. If you customize the tier configuration, the nodes in the tier inherit the customized configuration, as illustrated in the following figure. 

Overriding the Inherited Configuration with a Custom Configuration 

You can override an inherited configuration by choosing to customize the configuration for a tier or node. The following screenshot shows how this option is presented in the Controller UI, in this example, for the Transaction Detection settings. 

The Controller UI indicates whether a configuration has been customized for a given tier or node with a green check mark in the Customized column, in the case of the Transaction Detection page. 

After customizing the tier configuration, you can reset the configuration to the application configuration or push the custom configuration on this tier to all tiers. 

For node configuration, when you click Save but not Apply to All Nodes the new configuration applies to new nodes going forward but does not overwrite custom configuration for existing nodes. Choose one of these options to apply the configuration to all nodes: 

  • If you are configuring at the application level, click Apply to All Nodes if you want the new configuration to overwrite all nodes in the entire application, including nodes with custom configuration. This erases the previous custom configurations for the application.
  • If you are configuring at the tier level, click Apply to All Nodes in this tier if you want the new configuration to overwrite all nodes in the tier including nodes with custom configuration. This erases the previous custom configurations for the tier.

Reverting a Custom Configuration

If you customize configuration at the tier or node level and then switch back to the application-level configuration, you will not see the old configuration in the UI. However, the old tier or node level configuration is stored, and if you will see these old settings if you switch to the lower-level configuration again.

  • No labels