You can create a new alerting template in Alert & Respond > Alerting Templates. Alternatively, you can configure the Alert and Respond features in the Controller UI and save the configuration as an alerting template.

View Alerting Template Details

To view the configuration details of an existing alerting template:

  1. Select a template.
  2.  Click the view icon to view the configuration details. 
  3. If you want to edit the template, view template history or apply the template to other application(s), click More.

Create an Alerting Template

Ensure that you create and configure the health rules, policies, actions, action suppression, and email digests you plan to use to create the alerting template before you create the template.

  1. Click the create icon. The New Template wizard is displayed.

  2. Enter a name for the template. You can use alphanumeric characters to specify a name. Ensure that you specify a unique name.

  3. If required, include a description. Click Next.
  4. Select an Application from the list displayed in Choose an Application. The configuration you define for this application is saved as a template. Click Next.
  5. Select the following feature configuration as required:
    1. Policies
    2. Health Rules
    3. Actions
    4. Action Suppression
    5. Email Digests
  6. Click Next.
  7. Review the configuration settings you have defined. Click Save.

Overwrite an Alerting Template

If you make any inadvertent updates to a template, the changes cannot be reverted. You can update the template using the overwrite option, which overwrites the existing configuration with the updates you made when you save the template. 

  1. Select the template and click the overwrite icon. The Overwrite Existing Template wizard is displayed.
  2. Select the application whose configuration you want to save as a template. Click Next.
  3. Modify the pre-configured features as necessary. Click Next.
  4. Review the configuration settings you have defined. Click Overwrite.

Once you Overwrite the configuration of a template and save it, you cannot revert the changes.

Any updates made to the template are not applied to all the applications using the template. You need to re-apply the modified template to applications.

Delete an Alerting Template

You can delete a template if you no longer use it. When you delete a template, the applications using the template are not affected. The application configuration also remains intact. You can continue to use the applications as before.

  1. Select the template and click the delete icon.
  2. Click Delete

Once you delete a template, you cannot restore it.

Import an Alerting Template

You can import a saved alerting template and apply it to other applications.

  1. Click the import icon. Import Template dialog box is displayed.
  2. Click Import Icon and select a file to import.

    Ensure that:

    • you select a JSON file to import.
    • the file you want to import has a unique name, else the file is not imported.
  3. Click Import. The selected file is imported and displayed in the Alerting Templates UI.

Export an Alerting Template

You can export a saved alerting template and apply it to applications in other accounts.

  1. Select a template to export.
  2. Click the export icon. Template exported successfully message is displayed.

Apply Template to Application(s)

After you create an alerting template, you can apply the template to multiple applications.

  1. In the Alert & Respond > Alerting Templates, select the template and click Apply To Icon. The Apply Template wizard is displayed.
  2. In Choose Application(s), select the applications to apply the template. Click Next.
    Use the Search option if the list of templates is too long.
  3. To add the template configuration (such as policies, health rules, and actions) to the existing configuration of the selected applications:
    1. In Choose How to Apply Template, select Add/Merge. Click ApplyThe Add/Merge operation status is displayed.

    2. The alerting configuration of the template is added to the selected application(s). 

    3. If you see an error or warning for an application, refer to Check the Status of the Applications to fix it.

      If the entities (such as Health Rule, Policy, Action, Action Suppression, or Email Digest) exist in the template and the application, the configuration of the template entity replaces the configuration of the application entity.

  4. To replace the existing configuration of an application with the configuration of the selected template:
    1. Select Replace. 

    2. Click Apply

    3. A confirmation dialog box is displayed. Click Yes to confirm. The Replace operation status is displayed.

      This operation replaces the alerting configuration of all the entities of the selected application(s), such as the health rules, policies, and actions, with that of the alerting configuration of the template. The existing alerting configuration of the selected application(s) is deleted permanently. Perform this operation only if you want to replace all the entities you have configured.

      If you see an error or warning for an application, refer to Check the Status of the Applications to fix it.

Check the Status of the Applications

You can check if the template was successfully applied to all the applications.

  1. Click the Status of the template. The TEMPLATE HISTORY page listing the status of each application is displayed. 
    Template History
  2. If an error is listed on the TEMPLATE HISTORY page, click the error to determine the cause of the error and the exact location. 
  3. Fix the error and then re-apply the template to the affected application.